Tuesday, June 27, 2017

The Color Project Blog Tour: Interview with Bee


 The Color Project
Author: Sierra Abrams
Publisher: Gatekeeper Press
Release Date: July 18th
Find at: AmazonBook DepositoryBarnes and Noble
Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn't want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee's summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.~Goodreads

Interview with Bee!

If you had a choose a flower to represent yourself, what would you choose and why?
Well, Lisianthus are my favorite flower, but they're too easily bruised or crushed. I'd like to think I'm more like a dahlia. Or maybe I'm spray roses - several little tiny rose buds on one stem. Small and cute and feminine, but with enough thorns to scratch even the most skilled florist.

You know I have to ask, what's your favorite thing about Levi?
His hair. I mean - oops, that was the shallow answer. My real favorite thing about Levi is his persistence. Sometimes it's also the biggest pain in my neck, but that's okay. He makes sure I don't retreat even when I'm afraid.

Do you have any hidden talents we should know about?
I'm the unofficial Guinness World Record holder for both The Biggest Dork and The Most Awkward.

Oh No! You're trapped in an elevator, who do you hope is with you?
Four people: Levi (to talk me down), Matt Smith and David Tennant (I'd imagine they were the Doctors meeting and trying to figure out who to get us out of this trap), and Danny Elfman (to sing to me). This sounds like the start of a really bad "walked into a bar" joke so I'm going to stop this right here and now.

Most embarrassing moment?
That one time my dance costume got washed with some bright colors and turned orange. I was a very obnoxious petal among many soft, light pink petals at that recital. My crush was in the audience. It was horrific.

Quick round
Sweet or salty?
Salty! (Oh great, now I'm thinking about sushi and I want to eat it.)

Early bird or night owl?
Night owl. I might actually be 1/3rd owl by now.

Celebrity crush?
Henry Cavill. Hands down. Always and forever.

About Sierra

At 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds... Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she's not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill. 
Find her: Website| Twitter| Instagram 

Giveaway 

A Tote from The Life of a Booknerd Addict tours:

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Cover Reveal: ROSEMARKED by Livia Blackburne

Happy Thursday, y'all!  I'm so excited to help share the cover of ROSEMARKED! I absolutely cannot wait for this one!
A healer who cannot be healed . . .
When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art-until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.
A soldier shattered by war . . .
Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule-even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.
Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.
This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes.


So. Pretty! Enter to win a copy HERE!
And be sure to add on Goodreads!

Thursday, May 25, 2017

{ARC Review} The Hearts We Sold

The Hearts We Sold
Author: Emily Lloyd-Jones
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

I feel as though The Hearts We Sold is totally going to be made into a CW TV show. It has that action-romance-demon formula that just works for TV shows, ya know?

This novel had a SUPER interesting concept that intrigued me straightaway. In the book you can sell a piece of yourself for a wish. Yes, you read that correctly. Want a million dollars? Artistic talents? Mad cooking skills? All it's going to cost you is, oh, just your left leg...or your eyeballs, or both arms—whatever the demon you’re dealing with deems necessary for the trade. CRAZY RIGHT?!

In addition to the demons, there were also these scary, nasty, giant, mismatched body part monster things that *shudders* were a lot to take in, yet totally cool!?

As for the main character, Dee, I actually really enjoyed her point of view. She was funny, she was shy, she was thoughtful and tough--everything I like in a main character.

So, why the low rating you ask? The world building wasn't as detailed as I would've liked. The storyline dragged in certain places. All the other characters fell flat. And, the romance element of the story felt off to me. Dee and James (her "love interest") had no spark. Their relationship seemed forced**


A-double-plus for the STUNNING COVER and fascinating concept. D-double-minus for the less than ideal execution. (ouch-wow-rude.)

**please google "now kiss, meme."

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine! And this week i am waiting on:


34499216
YASSSS! I'm already completely in love with this book. HA! I adored the first installment (RIDEN *SUH-WOON*) so I canNOT wait for the sequel! 

What are YOU waiting on this week? Link up below!